Update

16 Jan

It’s been a while.  I tried to limit my laptop hours when my family was in town. There were also wi-fi problems where we were staying up in San Francisco so that didn’t help either.

It was great to have my parents in California for Christmas – their first here ever – and although my sister and I did our usual reverting to childhood roles of big sister – little sister, for the most part, it was okay. It was good my husband and I weren’t staying with them so we had a place to go to get away from it when it was all too much family time. Thank god for friends with comfortable homes and geriatric cats who need taking care of while they are out of town for the holidays.

Having my mom here in LA for 5 days flanking the amnio was wonderful.  She took such good care of me, not letting me get up off the couch after I got home and busying herself in the kitchen where she cooked meals to freeze, yummies for the rest of the weekend and the kind of baked goods I would never bother with. You know, things that have to rise and shit. She even indulged my trashy TV habit by watching a little Real Housewives of Beverly Hills with me.

Amnio itself wasn’t nearly as bad as the anxious anticipation, which sort of ruined the very detailed ultrasound they did beforehand, because I was not able to relax and enjoy all the cool stuff we were getting to see, like actual fingers and toes. The tech was reassuringly cheerful, but only mildly talkative, where I would have preferred she talk non-stop. I started to relax a bit when the doctor came in to review all the measurements and said everything looked “beautiful”, beautiful enough that he did not see any reason to get rapid results. Obviously it’s not a guarantee, but it was a relief. Enough of a relief to make me think, “Um wait! Maybe I don’t need this needle that you’re about to stick me with!” But I did it anyway, and he couldn’t have been more calming and reassuring. So now we wait. I imagine I’ll know at the end of this week, since it was already a week ago. Not sure I can count weekend days in their 10-14 day estimate for results.

I had my monthly check in at the OB a week after the amnio and it was a relief to know my fetus had not perished from the procedure and was still going strong with its little beating heart. (Yes, it’s an “it”. Even though we probably could have found out the sex at that pre-amnio ultrasound, we’ve decided not to find out.) I agonized so much over that decision and now I feel pretty good about not knowing. I want labor to end in the biggest surprise of my life, if I am lucky enough to be able to deliver that way. And I am not the sort of person to want a very gender specific nursery. But it was hard to look away when the tech ventured over into the thigh region. And although it would be fun to buy some cute boy or girl clothes NOW there will always be cute clothes.

Even though I am now just a few days over 17 weeks, I am not feeling great amounts of movement. I am mildly aware of the “fluttering” that others have described, but nothing has happened yet where I’ve been able to say, “Yes, that was IT!” It’s more, “Is that gas, or a kick?”

Things are more or less getting back to normal after the holiday excitement and family visit, and that’s a good thing. But I am missing having my mom around so very much. There’s something about being pregnant that makes me extra sad that she lives so far away. But she will be back and we are already planning for an extended visit and looking into a place for her to sublet since she wants to stay a really long time without imposing.

My goal for the next week is to stay away from my best friend Google and everything she knows about miscarriage weeks after amnio, and of course all the trisomies I could be working myself into a frenzy about.

5 Responses to “Update”

  1. BabyMakingDiary January 16, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Hey lady! Good to see you back – so happy for you the amnio went well and everything’s looking ‘beautiful’. Good luck with the results – definitely a good idea to stay away from Dr Google in the meantime! x

  2. lady pumpkin January 16, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Hey, you. I remember you. Glad to hear that things are coming along so well, and that you had a good visit with the fam. I know everything’s going to come out a-okay from the amnio–hopefully not too much longer to wait until you find out! Happy New Year. xo

  3. nobabyruth January 17, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    I feel you so much on the mom front. I also have been missing my mom terribly since finding out we’re pregnant. I missed her before, of course, but now it’s kicked into warp drive or something. Hang in there!

  4. Nicole January 17, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    Good luck with your results. I bet they will be fine, odds are in your favor. I had an amnio in November. I did not have any complications from it and results were good. Thank goodness. But it was very stressful time, so I totally understand how you feel.

  5. conceptionallychallenged January 18, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Glad to hear that everything looks beautiful, and that your mom pampered you 🙂
    Fingers crossed for the results!

Leave a Reply

