Tacos and Cucumbers

29 Nov

Just got back from my second-to-last free ultrasound, courtesy of my role as research study subject. I’m officially 10w5d, but was measuring a bit ahead of that. Apparently that’s totally normal, even though I had insta-visions of a gigantic-headed 12-pounder trying to make its way out of my uterus sometime next June.

I had told the doctor who did the ultrasound we were undecided about wanting to know the sex. She must not have heard me, because she followed that up by saying she had a suspicion. This was my cue to blurt out that she must mean that it’s a boy because those parts are easier to see. She said that was her hunch, but it was too early to tell. When she showed the pics to my RE (Yes, him! He was there today!), pointing out what she thinks are the beginnings of a cucumber, he disagreed, saying it was a taco for sure. Then they both said that it was a bit early to know with any certainty, and that it could go either way at this point. I was relieved. I don’t actually want to know for sure. Not yet. I like the anticipation and the wondering. And we may not find out at all.

One of the people at the Thanksgiving dinner we went to (some knew, some didn’t) said he had a feeling it was a girl. Just because he had a feeling, but also based on the way I was carrying? “Um, excuse me? Carrying?” There was no polite way to tell him that what he was looking at was days worth of backlog in the vicinity of my colon, rather than anything growing in my uterus. But thanks to persistent use of Colace, I am currently not the bearer of impressive bloat.  For today, that is. By Thursday I’m sure I’ll be whistling a different tune as I look down lovingly at my distended pooch.

We had our genetic counseling appointment last week and have decided to get an amnio the first week of January. Because of this, I’m skipping the NT scan and any other first trimester screening to save myself the anxiety of days or weeks of things like high ratios or false positives floating around in my brain to torture me. Because torture me they would. There is no question that I would do these tests if I was 35 or younger, and then use the results as a guide for any subsequent (and more invasive) testing decisions. But alas, I am old. Like dirt.

But my gosh, I’m starting to relax a little. This might actually happen.

4 Responses to “Tacos and Cucumbers”

  1. nobabyruth November 30, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    Hehehehe. You make me laugh – taco or cucumber… Do you have a preference?

  2. misfits November 30, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    I, too am old, like dirt. I expect you are a fresh silty kind with youthful tones. That’s great that you’ll be waiting for the amnio. It’s stressful enough without all the worry between now and then. I want very much for you to relax and enjoy this pregnancy.

  3. lady pumpkin December 3, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    It is happening; it is, it is! Which is wonderful. Tacos and cucumbers–yuck. But why is it that the mental images evoked by the actual names for genitalia bother me less than these benign edible stand-ins? Food for thought…as it were.

  4. BabyMakingDiary December 4, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    So pleased to hear you’re starting to relax now. This is definitely happening 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

