Relief (and a little panic for good measure)

28 Oct

I was so nervous before this morning’s ultrasound. I was also experiencing my first bout of real queasiness, but I think it had more to do with my nerves than pregnancy. Even though I had a 7:30 appointment, it felt like the longest wait ever in the waiting room, and then again in the exam room waiting for the doctor to come in.

Didn’t see my doctor (WTF? That man really shouldn’t see patients, he is never there), but one of his colleagues who I loved. She really took her time, reassured me before she got started that we shouldn’t expect to see a strong heartbeat at 6 weeks. Sometimes it’s there, but it’s PERFECTLY FINE if it’s not. Once the probe was in situ, I was so worried that there would be a long period of silence, or something else suspicious and strange but almost immediately she said, “Oh! This is great. That flicker you see is the heartbeat.” So my little lima bean (by no means an official name for it) lives and is measuring right on schedule. Sigh. Huge relief. It all feels so much more real, and I might allow myself to just enjoy things for a little bit.

But then… I have to fly to Vegas tomorrow. My doctor said it was fine, it’s just an overnight trip and the flying time isn’t even an hour, but for some reason I am panicking about it. And wondering if I should disappoint my friend whose birthday it is and cancel. I actually don’t want to cancel. It’s the first time I’ll be seeing some of my oldest friends in many months and I was really looking forward to it (even though the destination is not my favorite).

So please, send me all kinds of reassuring things about flying in early pregnancy. Dr. Google is saying it’s OK, unless you have some sort of clotting disorder, but if I look long and hard enough, I know I’ll find something to pin my next freak out on.

4 Responses to “Relief (and a little panic for good measure)”

  1. nobabyruth October 28, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Yay for the heartbeat!! That is so exciting!! You definitely should relax and enjoy it! I think flying is fine, personally, but that’s just me. After all I just flew to and from Paris this past weekend, and I will surely have a work trip to Scotland (a couple hours flying time) in the coming month or so. AND we’re flying back to the States in December when I’ll be just 10 weeks or so… so I HOPE it’s fine… 🙂

  2. conceptionallychallenged October 29, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    So great that there was a flicker already!!
    I have no idea about flying, sorry.

  3. Secret Sloper October 29, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    I personally had decided not to fly if it turned out I was pregnant this cycle. But I’m basically going to live on eggshells the first 12 weeks of any pregnancy I’m lucky enough to have. I’m not rational, so you probably shouldn’t make that choice.

  4. BabyMakingDiary October 30, 2010 at 5:50 am #

    Congrats on the heartbeat, so happy for you. Glad you feel you can relax more and enjoy it now. If you decided to go to Vegas I hope you had a great trip. 🙂
    (Thx for the comment on my blog about Clomid BTW, going to talk to the doc about it again. Will keep you posted)

Leave a Reply

