I can breathe a little

18 Oct

Waiting for today’s 2nd beta results was hard. It must have been a busy day over there because they didn’t call me until close to 5pm. It was killing me. It helped that my husband has the week off, and was around today. It wasn’t a very busy day for me so we took ourselves to the Getty Villa to enjoy some sculpture, jewelry, and artifacts from ancient Greece and Rome. Oh, and lots and lots of vessels. Gigantic vessels from which to enjoy libations. It’s just as well it was considered barbaric to drink wine without mixing it with water back then. It was a good distraction, and never a bad thing to spend the day somewhere ocean views abound.

And then finally, finally, my nurse called. My heart was pounding and jumping out of my chest.  I couldn’t even answer my cell phone, and had to let it go to voicemail. I listened to her message and knew instantly from the tone of her voice that things were fine. My beta went up to 3097 — quite a bit more than double. It’s hard for me to imagine that a pregnancy hormone has quintupled in my body, and I still don’t feel much of anything, except some boob tenderness.

Now I just have to hold out until my first ultrasound, which is next Thursday. I am still scared. So very scared that there won’t be anything there. But I’m trying to stay calm. I can’t do anything to change the outcome at this point so whatever will happen, will happen. And excessive googling isn’t going to influence anything, except the crazy making part of my brain.

6 Responses to “I can breathe a little”

  1. nobabyruth October 18, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    Wow!! I’d say you can breathe a LOT. That number is fanTAStic!! Congratulations!!

  2. conceptionallychallenged October 19, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    That’s a great beta! I’m very hopeful for you.

  3. cgd October 19, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    such great news. congrats!!!!!

  4. stacie October 19, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    oh yay! congrats!!

  5. lady pumpkin October 20, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    That’s a big number! Any chance there’s more than one in there? Take it easy between now and Thursday!

  6. Rachael October 21, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    Fingers crossed for you!!!

Leave a Reply

