Hormone update

16 Oct

Well there’s definitely something in there. Yesterday’s beta was 628, and progesterone was 37. I was pretty happy with these numbers. I know I’m not out of the woods yet, and there needs to be some doubling going on with that first one, but it was so much better than my last pregnancy where the numbers were 20 (HCG) and 2 (progesterone) by the time I went in for a blood test. I go back Monday for round 2. I was especially surprised by the progesterone since mine tends to be on the low side (and, I suspect the reason for my difficulties getting pregnant) and thought for sure I had some toothpaste up the vag to look forward to. Apparently 100mg of Clomid was better for me than 25, or 50? My RE thinks progesterone gets a better boost by being supported before ovulation (with Clomid), rather than giving it after the fact. Although I’ve heard all kinds of success stories resulting from just supplementing with Prometrium after ovulation.

It all feels very surreal. I can’t believe I’m here. And, I have to say that it’s a little bittersweet. I know from reading many blogs and following umpteen stories that while getting the news of others’ positive pregnancy tests would send hope coursing through my veins, there was also a little stab. “Why can’t it be me? When will it be me?” I am so humbled by the well wishes yesterday, and your excitement at this strange and amazing turn of events in which a heatwave got me knocked up naturally. Because of the scars of infertility and a previous loss, pregnancy is not going to be a picnic. There will be shadows and dark corners and sometimes crippling moments of doubt. So I am very grateful to have the support of you wonderful women who understand this path and its pain better than anyone. I want so badly for all of you to get good news.

There’s a small part of me that feels like it’s just too good, and that something shitty is lurking, but I am trying very hard to shut that naysayer up. My cynic apparently does not like her backseat, and is now trying to drive the car. Frankly, she’s starting to piss me off a little.

10 Responses to “Hormone update”

  1. lady pumpkin October 16, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    You know those cars in the cartoons that have an ejector seat? Yours does, too–and two steering wheels (lucky lady!). So send that cynic packing and reassume control of the vehicle, y’hear? I know, so much easier to say, but that’s my job, right? Anyway, those numbers are awesome. Thank you for wanting this for those of us still waiting; it’ll come. Here’s hoping that Clomid + progesterone will be the key (again) on this side of the country, too. Shitty things, no lurking! I mean it. No presence whatsoever. Congratulations, my dear.

  2. BabyMakingDiary October 16, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Omigod congratulations!! I’ve been away and out the loop for a couple of weeks so just read your last few blogs. It’s fantastic news and I’m really really happy for you. Completely understand your apprehension and fear but there’s every reason you’ll have a happy pregnancy and a healthy baby at the end of it. You deserve it.

  3. egghunt October 16, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Thats great news about your well rising hormones! And I hadn’t heard the theory that your RE suggested about Clomid supporting P4 levels, thats really interesting actually.
    It’s natural that you’ll feel like it’s all going to fall apart any minute, IF does create uncertainty everywhere. But at this point you have absolutely no reason to question the healthiness of your pregnancy. Everything is going perfectly right now so just hold tightly onto that thought. x

  4. cgd October 16, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    great levels so far. Good luck on Monday with round 2 and keep us posted. Congrats again.

  5. Justine October 17, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I know just how you feel. But keep being pissed off at your inner cynic, and see if you can hold her at bay, even if she’s still riding with you on this journey! Congratulations!

  6. Me October 18, 2010 at 2:05 am #

    Congratulations!!

  7. conceptionallychallenged October 18, 2010 at 4:34 am #

    Wow, that sounds great! Hope they keep rising appropriately!

  8. Infertility Doula October 18, 2010 at 6:47 am #

    I can’t believe I missed the big news! Congrats! That is so exciting. Yes, yes, you’ll remain a bit apprehensive for a while, but try to enjoy the fact that you are pregnant. I’m doing a little dance for you. Then, you’ll come and join in on my parenting after infertility blog. Can’t wait to see you there.

  9. Jamie October 18, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    congratulations from a stranger! : ) i am pulling for you and hope everything goes smoothly.

  10. amber1279 October 18, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Hi, I am a new follower from the Lost and Found. Congrats!!! Those are great numbers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

