This again?

14 Oct

Sorry to bring you back to this kind of post, but it’s Day 32 and no sign of my period. I thought last month’s extended cycle (30 days) was a fluke and really didn’t think it would happen again so soon. Last month, I got my period at midday 16 DPO, so this time around, even though I was tempted to test two days ago, I told myself I would hold out until I had least gone well into the afternoon of 16 DPO. And here I am. Now I’ve decided I’m going to wait until tomorrow, because a 16 day luteal phase is not unheard of. For me it is, but I know that out there in the world of menstruating women, it’s probably fairly common. And god knows I’ve reviewed enough charts on Fertility Friend to see that it’s well within the bounds of not being pregnant. And if I get my period anytime before tomorrow evening, it will still technically be a 16 day-er.

I really shouldn’t ramble on and on about this, musing on the reasons for my extended cycle (besides the obvious one that I’m too terrified to hope for) until I’ve actually peed on a stick. So I won’t go any further and will just provide an update once I actually test. I will for sure have tested by tomorrow night, since we have an out of town guest staying with us this weekend and there will be some dinners at some of our favorite restaurants and I would like to know if I can enjoy a little wine.

I am really damn thrifty about those pregnancy tests, but honestly I’m just trying to protect my heart. Conceiving by ourselves (and the help of my old friend Clomid)  after being benched by a power failure just seems too perfect. Far too good to be true.

 

2 Responses to “This again?”

  1. lady pumpkin October 14, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Oh, my dear, I do hope this is it. Pleasepleaseplease? Baby for you! If it’s not, though, I hear you on the two consecutive over-long cycles: utter suckfest. Let’s hope that’s not the case, and that the clinic’s power outage was a foil for your ladypower surge. Sound good?

  2. nobabyruth October 14, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    Wow!! Let us know as soon as you test!! This could totally be it! And how perfect would that be? The most effed up cycle turns into the lucky one!

Leave a Reply

