Benched

28 Sep

No IUI tomorrow. Clinic will still be closed. Because I like throwing away $5 bills, I peed on another OPK stick tonight. No more smiley face. Looks like the surge is over, and I think that means I already ovulated, but I’m never sure exactly how that works. Once an OPK turns negative again, does that mean it’s happened?  Since I don’t particularly feel like convincing anyone to have sex with me twice in one day, I ‘m going to go with a yes on the answer to that question, and hope we magically hit the window this morning via more traditional insemination methods.  We’ll see. I suppose this two week wait won’t be quite as irritating. Possibly because on the other end of it there will be a period that is absolutely FREE, as opposed to costing $1,000.

Once again I have to sing my clinic’s praises. They left several messages for me today updating me on the situation, rather than leaving me floundering wondering what was up. I got the feeling that they truly cared that I had missed my IUIs and how hard that is for people in our situation who are wondering if they just lost their one and only chance for success that cycle. So kudos to Dr. P, and his stalwart nurse for making me feel like they really care.

3 Responses to “Benched”

  1. lady pumpkin September 29, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    I’m glad your clinic has been in close touch, but sheesh, that’s annoying about their being closed. Poor, poor timing. I think that after the surge, you usually ovulate in the next day or so? Hope your traditional methods were just the thing.

  2. Secret Sloper September 29, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    I’m glad you are happy with how your clinic handled this. What a frustrating situation– but maybe you’ll get to be one of those annoying people who gets their BFP during a semi-break/benched cycle!

  3. Misfits September 29, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    Ah, Jeez. Annoying. I’m sorry about this. You give me their number and I’ll give them the meanest random message ever. You watch.

    Okay, maybe I won’t, but I’m sending your doctor the worst golf score vibes of his life. Not that that is any consolation, but if he’s gonna take your money, I’m going to wish the universe will not let him enjoy it until he gets you nice, fat, and full of baby.

Leave a Reply

