My uterus: A swim-up bar

29 Aug

When I first started this here blog, and a friend chastised me for not posting frequently,  I said, “I have nothing to say this week!” Now it seems I can’t shut up.

So, IUI redux, because of course I have things to report.

Lets start with Saturday. Hubs returned from his morning obligations and announced (after reassuring me that his sample looked ample), “Your favorite RE rode the elevator with me this morning.” My face fell. “Oh no! THAT one? Hrrummph!”  Damn cycle. My ovulation days seem to match her weekends on call.  I love my actual RE, I love all the nurses, I love the other fellows and residents I’ve met, but this one, is just, I don’t know…cold.

I haven’t been able to put my finger on it. And then this happened.

Dr. R. (on walking into the exam room). Hello

Me: Hi Dr. .R.!

Dr. R.: So is this your first IUI?

Me: No. (in my head: “??? WTF! You did part one of my first IUI. And my day 3 ultrasound, which was just last week, in which we discussed how many IUIs I should try, since the first one had failed.”)

Dr. R. (reading my chart, apparently for the first time that day) Oh, I see Dr. L. did your last IUI, And her notes said to use a certain kind of catheter.

Me: (in my head: “Yes, and she followed your notes from the day before. Where are YOUR notes?”)

I was tempted to remind her that she had done my first ever IUI just a month ago, but then thought it couldn’t possibly matter. It wouldn’t affect the outcome of the procedure, and I didn’t want to embarrass her right before she inserted a cold metal object into my lady parts. Needless to say, I couldn’t make eye contact with my husband at this point. Although he looked pretty incredulous when I looked at him from the side of my head (because ovulation has been on weekends for me, he has been able to come to all the IUI appointments).

I realize I am just another vagina/cervix/uterus/ovaries set to her. And I don’t expect her to remember my name, or even that she’s seen me before. But at least review my chart before walking into the room to refresh your memory, so I don’t feel like you truly don’t give a shit. Maybe I’m being sensitive. But then to add insult to injury (or I guess the other way around), she could not get that damn catheter through my cervix and it was extremely uncomfortable.

Today’s doctor on the other hand was wonderful. I hadn’t met her before, but she used our names when she introduced herself, was very familiar with everything in my chart to date from antral follicle counts from 3 cycles ago, to what was seen on yesterday’s ultrasound. She also went over the sample numbers in great detail, and did a great job answering all my questions (because I always have a ton) and was warm, gentle and reassuring. Love.

Trying to think happy thoughts. The numbers were good both days, the motility was  better today than yesterday, but fine on both days, lining was good.  I also like to think the method of inserting sperm in two places (into the cervix, as well as directly into the uterus) increases my chances, although I can’t find much on this on the internet. It doesn’t make too much sense to me, so close to ovulation. I asked about it but now I’m not sure I’m remembering the explanation correctly. Basically the idea (or the way I understand it) is to put the fastest swimmer-uppers into the uterus because they are the ones more likely to get to an egg that’s about to be released, and the slower ones into your cervix where they can hang out longer for a slower release. But now that I just wrote that, it sounds completely wrong. I absorb every infertility detail I find on the internet, but then when something is getting explained to me in person by an actual professional, my mind wanders, apparently.

So now we wait. Time to obsess over every possible symptom and its meaning. Although really, week 1 of the two week wait is fine. I usually feel hopeful and peaceful. But next week this time, I will most likely be climbing aboard the crazy train.

5 Responses to “My uterus: A swim-up bar”

  1. Stephanie August 30, 2010 at 4:55 am #

    Glad to hear your back to back IUIs went well. I hear you about the over-analyzing of any crazy symptom. I have this strange hopefullness about this IUI that I just went through because it’s new and I feel like it’s a much better shot than just trying naturally. At the same time, I don’t want to get my hopes up only to be let down if it doesn’t work. It is such an emotional rollercoaster! I hope your 2WW goes by quickly and you have the outcome you want!

  2. stacie August 30, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    Oooh that’s frustrating…it pisses me off when they don’t bother to read the chart before talking to me.

    I’m glad everything else went well though and I hope the next 2 weeks pass as quickly as possible for you! Best of luck!!

  3. lady pumpkin August 30, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    Couldn’t she have at least attempted to make you feel a little less nobody-like? Boooo for crappy bedside manner. But hooray for good numbers; hoping this is it!

  4. BabyMakingDiary August 31, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Thanks for the comment on my blog – wouldn’t mind knowing a bit more about your journey if you’re happy to talk about it. Could I email you direct or are you on Twitter?

    By the way, glad you’re feeling positive for this one, hope the crazy train passes you by…

  5. Mrs. Unexpected August 31, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Well if the universe is going to make you deal with a rotten doctor (and let her stick something in your nether regions!) then you better at least get a BFP out of the deal. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

