Sex and pee. Not at the same time.

23 Aug

Day 10 is here. This marks Round 14 (but who’s counting?) of the Sexual Olympics. Yes, even though there’s an IUI in there somewhere this week, my clinic suggests sticking to the every-other-day-from-Day 10-schedule, until your OPK turns positive, then abstain until it’s time to get shot up with super sperm.

It’s also OPK-pallooza!  Clinic says start today. They also like you to call in every day you test with the result, even if it’s negative. I’m not sure why I get all curmudgeonly about this ritual,  but I do. It’s never a simple call. There’s always a lot of misunderstanding with the receptionist. (“Your pregnancy test was negative? What? Oh, wait, what? Oh, your ovulation test! Oh, OK.”)  Now I wait until after hours to call. I might even be a little rebellious this cycle and mix it up. First of all, I never get a positive this early, and I’d like to not waste a special smiley-face stick. So I may not test today, which means I  won’t call.  Whoa! Living on the edge.

And welcome to everybody here from ICLW. This community has helped me stay sane these last few weeks. I love reading your stories, laughing about the funnier side of these shenanigans, and hearing my own thoughts and feelings echoed on the pages of your blogs.

P.S. Title of this post inspired by last night’s episode of Mad Men. Oh Sally Draper! Don’t take Phoebe’s advice and ask your mother to clarify what actually happens when people “do it.” I don’t think it’s a chat that will go well with Mommy Dearest. (Go to your room! Don’t talk about that! You’re disgusting!)

10 Responses to “Sex and pee. Not at the same time.”

  1. lady pumpkin August 23, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Hi there, and happy ICLW! I’m commenting for a few reasons. First, because I enjoyed reading your post and was just recently in the throes of my own monthly screw- and peefest. Second, we have the same WordPress theme. Third, I just looked at one of the blogs at the top of the ICLW list, and she’d gotten about 30 comments on one post! Whereas I at #134 and you at #176 are not reaping nearly the same benefits. Why must folks be so linear? Anyway…happy peein’ and lovin’ and take good care.

    • lady pumpkin August 23, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

      Oops, make that #175. See, there I go again, starting something (in this case, your blog’s number on the ICLW list), zoning, and then finishing inattentively. I guess we’re lucky I didn’t put it as #17screwandpeefest, right? Small blessings.

  2. Kristin August 23, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Wishing you the very best of luck with this cycle. I think I would end up being just a bit rebellious with the call in ritual too.

    #28 ICLW

  3. Ashlee August 23, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    You’re living on the edge! haha, you’re awesome.

    I like you. I think I’ll follow you.

    Best of luck in all of your baby dancing.

    ICLW #117

  4. Lacie August 24, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I hope that you come through this with no IVF necessary! BUT, its all good…you have a hot RE, right? So, that’s a positive, isn’t it. If someone has to spend a significant amount of time with his head between your legs, he might as well look like a movie star! Hee hee…
    Best of luck to you! ICLW #171

  5. carrie August 24, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    wishing you the very best of luck with this cycle!!!! Thank you for your comments on my blog, I look forward to following your story.

  6. AmandaMqn August 24, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Wishing you loads of luck with this cycle! Have fun with all that peeing and sexing! 😉

    ~Happy ICLW!
    #150

  7. Secret Sloper August 24, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Thanks for the blog comment and the advice. I’ve yet to do ICLW, but I love finding new blogs and readers and I will definitely follow yours.

    I hope IVF is a far off, never reached place for you and that hottie Dr Competent actually gets to seal the deal one of these days and get you knocked up.

  8. Frozen egg bank August 25, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    Being rebellious is not bad 😉 hope that your Sex Olympics continue smoothly and that you win the trophy LOL
    ps: I think your blog is hilarious!

  9. christine August 25, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Hah! OPK-palooza! I love it :).

    And, I must be an episode behind on Mad Men because I think I would remember that!

    ICLW #2

Leave a Reply

